SEIO Medals
2023 Edition


2023 Edition

The Society for Statistics and Operations Research (SEIO) opens the period for the presentation of candidatures for the SEIO Medals in this edition. Its concession will be governed by the bases published in this call.

The SEIO Medals are intended to recognize the work of SEIO members who have contributed significantly and continuously to the advancement and projection of the Statistics and the Operations Research as scientific disciplines, both nationally and internationally.

A maximum of two SEIO Medals will be awarded. The SEIO Medals will be accompanied by an accrediting diploma.

Each candidacy will be presented by five members of the SEIO, in accordance with the requirements set out in the bases.

The documentation, written in English, that must be provided to submit a candidacy for the SEIO Medals is the following:

1. Identification sheet of the nomination. It will include the name and surname of the proposed person, and the identification data and signatures of the five SEIO members who endorse the candidacy. Endorsers may not be members of the Executive Committee or to any of the Academic Councils of the SEIO and must be from five different entities.
2. Brief presentation of the trajectory of the proposed person (maximum 5 pages in Times New Roman font, 11pt size, 1.5 spacing and normal margins) highlighting his or her relevant and ongoing contribution to the advancement and projection of the corresponding discipline.
3. Detailed CV of the proposed person.

This documents will be sent in compressed format in a single email to the address of the SEIO Office ( before 2:00 p.m. (peninsular time) on May 5, 2023.

After the deadline for submitting nominations, if correctable errors are detected in a submission, the person responsible for it will be required to correct them within 10 calendar days so that the application can finally be accepted.

The call will be resolved before July 15, 2023.

SEIO Medals

  • Sixto Ríos García (2001)
  • Pilar Ibarrola Muñoz (2013)
  • Marco A. López Cerdá (2013)
  • Daniel Peña Sánchez de Rivera (2013)
  • Elías Moreno Bas (2013)
  • Jesús T. Pastor Ciurana (2013)
  • Rafael Infante Macías (2013)
  • Pedro Gil Álvarez (2013)
  • Domingo Morales González (2013)
  • Ignacio García Jurado (2013)
  • José Miguel Angulo Ibáñez (2013)
  • Laureano F. Escudero Bueno (2020)
  • Wenceslao González Manteiga (2020)
  • Leandro Pardo Llorente (2020)
  • María Ángeles Gil Álvarez (2021)
  • Justo Puerto Albandoz (2021)
  • Ricardo Cao Abad (2022)
  • Ángel Corberán Salvador (2022)

SEIO Medals 2022

Ricardo Cao Abad

Ángel Corberán Salvador

Ceremony of SEIO Medals and  SEIO-FBBVA Awards 2022



The SEIO Medals, together with the SEIO – FBBVA  Awards, were presented January 18th 2023 in solemn ceremony at the Palacio del Marqués de Salamanca, the headquarters of the BBVA Foundation in Madrid. 

More information of this ceremony can be seen in (Spanish)